Actually a bit of philosophy from the flat.

This isn’t my own thought. I just ran across this in one of my syllabi (from what else, Philosophy of Language):

Vocalization is not an indicator of the extent of the thought.

What does that even mean? If I understand it, then I think I agree with it. I love pithy little statements like that. It’s like this little package of compressed thought, and when you draw back a bit of the wrapping for clarity, it springs out with half a dozen accompanying thoughts.

For myself at least, I would like to claim this statement as true in my own vocalizations.

Leave a comment

Filed under Philosophical

Leave a Reply

