vivid language

I was looking in the Psalms on BibleGateway.com, and I noticed this verse. It’s NIV.

Psalm 12:8
“The wicked strut about when what is vile is honored among men.”

I think it’s kind of funny that the Bible has so many references to wicked people, to wicked deeds, and wastes nothing over spelling out exactly how putrid sin is.

I’m kind of timid about calling anyone or anything evil. Of course, I have no qualms about complaining about people and their decisions. I might say they are wrong or something along those lines, but I can’t think of many times when I have thought of someone as evil. This also aligns with my view of myself. I will freely admit that I do bad things, and that I am sinful. But I was evil? I still do evil things? Gee.

Bad things do happen in the world. All the time. But, at least for me, it’s easy to rationalize it and or paint the picture brighter. Maybe I haven’t encountered a heaping amount of evil in my lifetime, though, according to the Bible, anything not of God is evil. So basically, I’m swimming in an ocean of evil in my own life and in my experience with the world.

I heard someone say once (and he was probably a renown person so sorry for not knowing who), that the only limit on how depraved humans can be is God’s restraint (Him showing mercy and grace). If that’s true, it’s a pretty crumby state of things.

It’s a stretch for me to say with conviction that I was a completely wicked person (I’m still functionally wicked but God sees me as perfect now). That should not be so. I am discounting the gravity of my wickness which in turns minimizes Christ and the cross. And that, I’d say, is likewise wicked.

R.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

