for the edification of your vocabulary

You know that song that everyone always sings on Easter? That hymn that contains the phrase, “ineffably sublime”?

I got asked what exactly that meant yesterday. I did my best.

Today, I verified my answer, and I’m pleased to say that I pretty nearly got it. Like me, you might know the sense of this phrase but not quite sure that you could express the definition accurately.

So here’s to dictionaries!

ineffable– inexpressible; unable to be properly described or expressed in words

sublime– supreme or outstanding; raised high

2 Comments

Filed under Words

2 responses to “for the edification of your vocabulary

  1. tcm.

    “indescribably praised.”

  2. “Patience” is the key for English!
    Good luck.. And thank you for this useful writing..

Leave a Reply

