proverbial “last straw”

That’s it.

I’m over it. I’ve had it.

I understand that it’s in vogue right now to be up on technology. I understand that there’s merit to using it well and using to effectively to meet your needs. I understand social networking is the buzzword of the previous year and likely this year.

Technology is cool. Using technology well is cool. but being into technology is geeky. Remember high school? The kids that knew computers weren’t your Abercrombie and Fitch clique.

I work around a lot of older (50 is probably the average age) people. They have all recently gotten on facebook. It’s bemusing to walk by a conversation 40-50 year olds and hear one of them say to another, “Well if you look on my facebook page…”

Talking about Twitter,  has suddenly become the default conversation topic among my spheres. Seriously? Twitter? It’s what everyone talks about but no one actually uses.

I went to hear a live talk by Dave Ramsey about the economy last night. After he gave his piece on how we need to stop freaking out, because the economy is really not that bad, he took questions from the audience.

I don’t know why they thought it would make people like them better if they advertised all of mediums of question-collecting they were using (in my mind, that’s not what we were there to hear about. And who cares if you can get people to respond to you in a bunch of different ways?)

But they continually pointed out all the ways they were collecting questions. They took a question from the audience. They took a phone call. They took an emailed question. They played a person over youtube. They took a question via Twitter, and, of course, from facebook. Seriously?! I don’t care. The only thing I think they were missing was Skype.

There must be a limit.

No. I just did some online banking. Home page:  “Find us on Facebook” sticker.

*Sob.

1 Comment

Filed under Opinions

One response to “proverbial “last straw”

  1. you left out comments regarding all bloggers………

    have a great day,
    regards,
    dan

Leave a Reply

