inhospitable.

I apologize if you have to catch a ride with me. I really do.

I’ll verbally warn you that there’s no air conditioning. I’ll neglect to mention any possibility of breaking down, and I’ll refrain from telling you about it ceasing to run for me last week.

When it rains, I’ll wait to explain until the last possible moment that even though it’s pouring torrentially (oh wait, there actually was a tropical storm warning???) I need you to either keep your window rolled down or I have to run the defroster on hot hair to maintain visibility. Lack of air conditioning, remember?

If you’re the lucky third person who has to crawl into the back seat of my little two-door, I’ll just remark about how little my car is. I’m sure you’ll understand. Men over six feet tall very nearly can’t fit into my car, front or back seat.

About the windows always down… I’m also actually also considering having passengers sign a waver to protect me if they get mugged by someone crossing the street while we’re idling at a stop light with the windows down (creeps, please don’t get any ideas).

All that said, if you need a ride, give me a ring.

3 Comments

Filed under Explaining things

3 responses to “inhospitable.

  1. are you writing this about me? 🙂

  2. no, your car is great and in the no-AC club now.

  3. Don’t you love old cars? They have great personalities and they are great at character building! I have learned a lot by driving old cars, patience, flexibility, creativity, how to gauge the speed without a speedometer, driving without mirrors, changing a tire, driving without air, heat, a horn, or working windows! It makes you thankful for the little things!

Leave a Reply

