I forget the peril.

I’m as cowardly and lazy as the next [wo]man. I try to minimize discomfort, strain, and uncertainty.

It’s a pity that life, or God, tends to not allow too much of this. Yet again, I know it does good things, like makes us grow and mature.

I’m not doing anything ground-breaking here. I’m simply moving abroad. For only a year, I may add. People do that all the time- business, fun, change of scenery. They have to go through everything I’ve gone through. So I really can’t claim hardship because of doing this in partnership with God.

I’m saying good-bye to people.
Heavens, it’s not that long. It’s only a year. I have friends who pop in and out of my life at longer intervals than that and we manage to reconnect sufficiently. It’s not as though I were going away forever.

I have been treating this very similarly to how I watch action and adventure movies. I focus on the nice scene-setting portion, lament the conflict that dominates at least 80% of the feature, and then savor the final minutes where all is resolved.

I dislike the peril that is incumbent to adventures.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “I forget the peril.

  1. tcm.

    Ah, my bonnie lass, but what would be an Adventure without Peril? That in itself is the definition. It is hard to ‘man’ up to such things though I will agree. Prayn for ya like everything!

Leave a Reply

