language of britain

Before I left everyone’s favorite query was either I would come back with a British accent or not.

My conclusion is that I shall not, though I play at it for fun. I’ve spoken American English (American Standard English, I flatter myself) for twenty-two and a half years; I’m not apt to forget it quickly. Plus, I’m an American, why would I want to pretend to be a Brit? I should never manage it anyway, since my nuclear team has a plethora of accents from around the Isle.

But there is pressure to conform.

Most quickly, I am absorbing different terminology.

Further than that, I noticed that I am adopting nuances of their sentence structures and “saying it as they’d say it”, if not just to be more accomodating.

“It was quite nice”. They seem to insert “quite” anywhere where a quantitative adjective is needed.

Basics, which you may already know:

Crisps are our chips. Here, pants are trousers, because as I discovered, “pants” here are what one wears under “trousers”. A redundancy means something like being let go from your job. Cling film is what we call Saran wrap or cling wrap

And get this, Band-aids here are plasters.

A bit more:

Apparently, “getting along like a house on fire” is a positive simile. “Are you winding me?” is the equivalent of pulling someone’s leg or the archaic “are you putting me on?”

3 Comments

Filed under Words

3 responses to “language of britain

  1. Glad you’re getting to stretch your linguistic legs in a new country! I know you love that stuff.

  2. tcm.

    Wow! Wonderfully written. It seems like you might be adopting a new sentence structure. Hope you’re enjoying yourself! Love to read the updates!

  3. I just love the differences in the English languages. I don’t know why it intrigues me so much, but I find it fascinating how we have used the same words to say different things but in similar contexts.

    Plus, it opens up a whole new plethora of jokes, funny connections, and conversation starters.

Leave a Reply

