an american in britain

It’s funny frequently thinking about your nationality. You (or at least I don’t) don’t think about the country you are from until you are outside of it. Over here, I’m like, “Yes! I’m an American!” But, I may add, the Scotsman in our group is just as passionate about his country.

So here, we are, just over a month living in the illustrious city of London.

I’m sharing a flat with two girls, living with 10 people over all. I have a 40 hour work week, a small collection of clothes to keep me warm in this increasing cold. It doesn’t feel like home yet.

I love the river Thames and the Queen’s Walk, which goes along it on the south bank. I have picked up knitting as a caveat to my job, a way to befriend some of the locals. I am reading recreationally again, after four years of university. Right now, I am reading Vanity Fair (all my lit friends would be so proud).

My appreciation and knowledge of coffee has broadened as I have been educated on our espresso machine at work. My career as a barista is burgeoning. So yeah, what I miss of American cuisine is being compensated for over good coffee.

I am working on my goals for the year. I like it here most days.

1 Comment

Filed under 'bout me, Contingency, Everyday, life in london

One response to “an american in britain

  1. Hey lady! You seem like your having a good time in London. Saw your brother the other day. Made me think of you! Been reading your blog. Keep up the running! I’ve been trying to do the same myself. Miss you!

Leave a Reply

