guy fawkes in the UK

November 5 comes just once a year. I was so excited to celebrate Guy Fawkes day legitimately this year, being in the UK and all. Apparently, it’s just “bonfire night” in the vernacular, although it can be called Guy Fawkes day. And contrary to my research, none of my friends knew anyone who burned a Guy Fawkes in effigy. But that’s kind of okay with me.

It appears it is celebrated with firework displays and eating out of doors.

Sadly, I had to work at night, so I marked the day by making my first trip to the Tower of London, where Guy Fawkes was imprisoned before his execution. I could hear firework going off at night. We had a little celebration planned for Saturday night, so that consoled me.

So two nights later, when we were out in the country, we had our Bonfire Night celebration. Grilled chicken, sausages, “chips”, and toffee for dinner and then the boys set off fireworks.  Now that I know what the common Brit does, I shall continue to mark this day myself.

1 Comment

Filed under culture

One response to “guy fawkes in the UK

  1. Ah culture. You didn’t want to enjoy any of the firework shootings yourself?

Leave a Reply

